Renal Assoc logo   Renal Units in the UK


List of units
Search units
Notice Board

Unit Administators

Log in to edit your unit's page or post notices.



Swansea, Morriston Hospital

See us on a map


Heol Maes Eglwys,

Post Code:


Patients were first dialysed here in 1985

This unit has 440 haemodialysis and 70 peritoneal dialysis patients

This unit has the following transplant centres:

Cardiff - University Hospital of Wales

This centre has the following satellite units:

Aberystwyth, Bronglais Hospital

Carmarthen, West Wales Hospital


unit image

The Wreck of The Helvetia (1887); Rhosilli Bay ; Gower

Telephone number:


Holiday dialysis enquiries: 01633 626336



Email Address:

Unit website:

Trust website:


Dr Andrew J Williams (Nephrologist)
Dr Ashraf I Mikhail (Nephrologist)
Dr Balan Natarajan Nephrologist)
Dr Raj Shrivastava Nephrologist)
Dr Angharad Marks Nephrologist)
Dr Sadanand Aithal (Nephrologist)
Dr James Chess (Nephrologist)
Dr Clare Parker (Nephrologist)

Page administered by:

Dr James Chess

About the unit

The department of Nephrology at Morriston Hospital was established in 1985 to provide a service for patients with renal disease living in South West Wales. This covers a relatively large geographical area extending from Bridgend and Milford Haven in the south east and west to Llanidloes and Machynlleth in the north.

Catchment Area

The catchment population is 800,000 of whom approximately half live in West or Mid Glamorgan which as well as having several urban conurbations (Swansea,Neath,Port Talbot & Bridgend)has many areas of outstanding natural beauty including the Gower Peninsula.The other half of the population served lives in either Dyfed or Powys. These counties cover a large area and are in the main sparsely populated. East Dyfed (237,200) has three centres of population....Carmarthen, Llanelli and Aberystwyth in each of which is a DGH. Further west Pembrokeshire (113,700) has a DGH in Haverfordwest but in Powys whilst there are several community hospitals there is not a DGH.

Services Provided

With the exception of acute renal transplantation the department of nephrology in Morriston Hospital provides a full range of services for patients with renal disease living in south west Wales.

As well as caring for patients with general nephrological problems the department runs a renal replacement programme with a pool of patients receiving chronic dialysis that has risen steadily during the past 20 years and now totals over 500 (Main Unit 230 patients; Satellites 170 patients; Home HD 40 patients; PD 70 patients).The dept has satellite units in :

Aberystwyth (Bronglais Hospital;20 patients; started 2000)
Carmarthen (West Wales Hospital;90 patients; started 1985)
Haverfordwest (Withybush Hospital;60 patients; started 2008)

The unit also has a self care, nocturnal and home haemodialysis programme.

Approximately 200 patients are treated annually for acute end stage renal failure needing dialysis and the department also provides a plasma exchange service for patients in Morriston Hospital.

Renal transplantation is carried out for patients living in south west Wales in Cardiff. Transplant follow up is undertaken for approximately 200 patients in Morriston.

The Dept runs outreach nephrology clinics in:

Bronglais Hospital, Aberystwyth
Baglan Hospital,Baglan
Princess of Wales Hospital, Bridgend
West Wales Hospital, Carmarthen
Withybush Hospital, Haverfordwest
Prince Phillip Hospital, Llanelli

Research and special expertise

The unit is affiliated to the Welsh Kidney Research Unit ( and has an active commercial and academic research programme.

[ top of the page ]